March 3, 2019 (AMN) — State Troopers are now enforcing Michigan’s ‘Move over’ law. The ticket cost for not moving over is $400. Michigan State Police have issued about tickets since the law went into effect on February 13, 2019. The goal of the law is to enforce safety.
“The goal of the law is voluntary compliance to increase safety for emergency services workers who are working on the side of the road. The ‘Move over’ law calls for drivers to move over a lane for emergency and utility vehicles with flashing emergency lights. Drivers must slow down to 10 miles per hour below the posted speed limit. Violations are punishable by a $400 ticket.”